Fit vs. Fiction's Blog


Whose fantasy is this?!

A few days ago I was walking through the mall with my son and passed by a lingerie store displaying an enormous picture of a woman in a bra and underwear hanging in the front window. I looked at the picture and thought, “Imagine how incredible it would be if the woman modelling that lingerie wasn’t  your typical Victoria Secret-esque model and the picture hadn’t been photo shopped or airbrushed in any way.” I would love that!

Recently, lingerie model Erin Heatherton defended the use of photoshop  saying, “We’re not selling reality, we’re selling a story. It’s all about creating this fantasy.” (http://www.dailymail.co.uk/femail/article-2219203/Victorias-Secret-Angel-Erin-Heatherton-defends-airbrushing.html)

But I have to ask, “Whose fantasy is this??”  I know it ain’t mine. I know that there are plenty of men who enjoy looking through Victoria Secret catalogues so maybe MEN are their target market. Are they hoping to create a fantasy for men that will encourage them to buy merchandise for their partners? I’m sure that’s part of it. But, as far as women are concerned, I’m not too sure using “perfect” looking models is the best way to sell their clothes. Here’s why:

If I see a cute bra and underwear set being worn by a blemish-free, bulge-free, wrinkle-free and crease-free young model, I may think, ”Wow, that looks great!” I may even want to try it on. But there’s a good chance I may be disappointed when it looks completely different on my body than it does on every  body in every picture in the store. There’s also a good chance I will leave store without buying a thing..

Is it possible, that if these stores were bold enough to use pictures that have not been retouched of “regular” women wearing their clothes that it would actually increase their sales? Think about it. Wouldn’t it be cool to walk into a lingerie store and see pictures of different women with different body shapes modelling their lingerie? I for one would not be offended to see a model with some of that extra skin that pokes through the space between the breast and armpit area, or one with a few creases around her back or a softer stomach around her waistband. I think it would be great. Then women can have a more realistic expectation when they decide to try something on. I would love for all women to be able to walk into a change room and walk out with their self-esteem intact. There’s nothing self-esteem building about trying to compare a real body to one that’s been digitally altered.  It’s been reported that 80% of women feel worse about themselves within 3 minutes of reading a fashion magazine. So I ask again, whose fantasy is this?

Why do supermodels have to be superhuman? When will we TRULY start glorifying HEALTHY bodies instead of just skinny ones?

 

 

One Response to 'Whose fantasy is this?!'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Whose fantasy is this?!'.


  1. Exactly! I cannot tell you how often, even though I work hard at maintaining a healthy view of my body, I leave stores feeling “less than” because I don’t fit in to a) their clothes and therefore b)their projected target market.
    Real women. I wanna see REAL women wearing clothes made for REAL WOMEN!


Leave a Reply

