Fit vs. Fiction's Blog


Post-reunion thoughts….

The other day I shared my feelings about the challenges and realities of recovery from my eating disorder. I had decided to attend the reunion of the summer camp I had been a camper at from the age of 8 to 13 and as much as I hated to admit it, with all the excitement I was feeling came a little anxiety as well. There have been times when I’ve been in better shape and have felt more confident and there was a part of me that wished this was one of those times, but I also knew that my eating disorder had robbed me of enough life experiences, and there was no way I was going to let it rob me of this one.

I spent a total of 20 hours in Montreal. In that time, I got to reconnect with people I hadn’t seen since we were kids, who were now grown adults, most of whom had kids of their own. It was a BLAST! It’s hard to explain how incredible it felt to hang out with the people I had spent 6 of the best summers of my childhood with. Pine Valley Camp was where I discovered my love for football, my confidence to dance and sing on stage in front of a roomful of people and some of the best friends you could ask for. It was pretty amazing to see that when you make the kind of connections we did during those summers, years can go by without visits or phone calls but the bonds still stay strong. Time may have made some to changes how we look, but it did nothing to weaken our camp spirit.

For me, the event was a little bittersweet because my brother Billy had also been a camper at PVC. He spent ten summers there as a camper and then staff member and contributed to so many of my great memories. I will never forget being 8 years old and winning our camp’s “Miss Grey Cup” talent competition and seeing Billy and his friends JUMP out of their seats and race to the stage, where he hoisted me on his shoulders and carried me around the rec hall cheering for his little sister. Or the time during morning announcements when I called him down to the flagpole and presented him with the “Best Brother in the World” award I had made during Arts and Crafts, and he strutted towards me with a big smile on his face, gave me a hug (actually, he put me in a headlock, which was his 13 year old way of playfully and affectionally thanking me for the his gift.) and walked me back to where my bunkmates were standing. He was proud of me and I completely adored him.

I knew that seeing old camp friends last night would be a lot of fun, but I also knew that it would be a little tough not having Billy there to share the experience with me. I was also worried that he’d be forgotten. I was grateful to discover that he was not. The most incredible feeling was having people approach me and tell me what a great kid my brother was and the amazing memories they had of him. Two of Billy’s closest camp friends came over to hug me and let me know that I wasn’t just Billy’s little sister, but in a way, they saw me as their little sister too. They can’t possibly know how much that meant to me. (Thank you Brian and Steven). Thanks also to Mitchell who reminded me of the great times he spent at my house growing up and to Morris, a friend and kindred spirit.

Elisa, Sherry, Ilana and Robyn: We’re still as fun and feisty as ever!

Going to the reunion was definitely the right decision to make. My only regret is that I couldn’t stay even longer.

2 Responses to 'Post-reunion thoughts….'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Post-reunion thoughts….'.

  1. Ilana said,

    It was wonderful seeing you and spending time together! Last night brought back some wonderful memories; rekindled friendships and plenty of laughs! PVC rules. That reunion would not have been the same without you. Glad you attended.

    • fitvsfiction said,

      Thanks Ilana!
      Can’t wait to hear about baby #2 in a few short weeks!!


Leave a Reply

