Fit vs. Fiction's Blog


So you mean cherries don’t grow in the shape of Dinosaurs?!

Oh no she Di’ int!

So there I was at the grocery store, innocently picking up a box of gummy candies for my kids, when I heared an unfamiliar, judgement filled voice say, “You DO realize those don’t actually have any FRUIT in them,don’t you?”

“Excuse me?” I replied.

She continued, “They’re pure sugar. Why would you buy those for your kids?”

(Poor woman had no idea who she was talking to or what she had just started.)

With sarcasm seeping through my pores, I said, ” Well, thank you so much for the tip, I was actually under the impression that they we ALL fruit..don’t cherries grow in the shape of dinosaurs? I thought all oranges looked like Spiderman or Dora the Explorer..wow, good thing you were here to set me straight!”

She looked at bit confused.

I continued by explaining, that while I was aware that the fruit snacks I was buying were more snack than fruit, they were just a small addition to the already balanced, healthy diet my kids enjoy. I know the difference between fruit  and “Fruit flavored” and so do my kids. When they come home after 8 hours (yup, 8 hours of Taekwondo training 5 days a week for the next few weeks), they grab something from the bowl of fruit that are washed and waiting for them on the kitchen table, because it’s what their bodies are craving..but during the day, when they are working hard and burning calories like crazy, you better believe I give them all KINDS of foods to choose from!

She countered with a somewhat sheepish, “Uh..well..I…”

I assured her that I understood the point she was trying to make but explained that it’s probably not the best idea to dish out advice to complete strangers. I told her about what I do and why I am so passionate about the issue of food and kids and encouraged her to check out my Fit vs Fiction website.

Maybe I should send this as an idea to the TV show “Primetime: What would you do? I’d love to see how others would have handled it!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

