Fit vs. Fiction's Blog


Through sickness and in health…

Posted in Uncategorized by fitvsfiction on February 11, 2011
Tags: , , ,

It’s Valentine’s Day and I’ve been hearing a lot about Love Letters. Have you ever written one? Have you had one written about you?

It brought me back to Januray of 2000. I was 29 years old, healthy and pregnant with my second son. Then I got sick. Not just sick, but the kind of sick that has the doctors shaking their heads,unable to look your family in the eyes, kinda sick. I spent 2 months in the hospital, 14 days in the I.C.U. and was given just a 25% chance of surviving. My older son was 15 months old at the time and my husband and I were living at the opposite end of the country from any relatives.

A few weeks into the ordeal, I lost the baby I was carrying; our son, Jackson. The nurses said they couldn’t save us both. My husband was at my bed every minute he could be, holding my hand and dancing around to bad boy band music on the radio to make me smile. It was tough, but we pulled through.
A few months later on our anniversary, I wrote him a Love Letter, had it printed in the local newspaper and called his office to make sure his co-workers would have it sitting on his desk when he got to work. It wasn’t fancy, just from the heart. Here it is:

For my husband,
Today I honor you. I always knew you were one of the good guys & throughout the years you stood by me through some pretty tough times.But we had no idea how our lives would change when I became seriously ill and spent 2 months fighting for my life. You amazed me. How can I thank you for the hours you spent by my bed holding my hand,willing me to get better?

You took care of me when I couldn’t take care of myself, spoke for me when I had no voice and cheered me on when I started to walk again. All this while taking care of our baby boy at home. Knowing I was going to see your smiling face made it easier to face each day. Your support never wavered. Your strength carried me through. I will never find the right words to express the love I feel for you. You are my hero and today, I honor you.

Leave a Reply

