Fit vs. Fiction's Blog


My life as an anorexic

Found this while I as going through old boxes..I wrote it YEARS ago,but can still relate:

Anorexia

Alone I lived inside my head
never wanting to leave my bed
On the outside so strong and tough
But inside never good enough

I spent each moment wrapped in fear
Afraid of looking in the mirror
What power it had over me
It’s reflection was my enemy

My bones were not distinct enough
My stomach still too round
I weighed my worth in numbers
And hated every pound

My body ached from hunger
And I relished in the pain
This war I fought within myself
was driving me insane

“Please somebody help me!”
I shouted every word
But my prayers went unanswered
My pleas were never heard

Waiting lists went on for years
fees were just too high
My future looking grimmer
My life was slipping by

But way out in the distance
Though my eyes must strain to see
The light of hope is flickering
and calling out to me

It’s up to me to live my life
the best I can each day
Or give in to the madness
and waste it all away

2 Responses to 'My life as an anorexic'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'My life as an anorexic'.

  1. amotherworld said,

    Wonderful poem.

  2. Katelylouise said,

    brought tears to my eyes.


Leave a Reply

